Skip to content

(what i am is)(is what i am)(am i what is)

August 18, 2011

poetry is love
poetry is art
poetry is my highway straight from the heart
words align with meaning
and thoughts align with feeling
as I perceive my subject deepening
identity and definition blur
object is no more,
as the lines continuously curve,
a valiant attempt is the best I have,
to put my self and my experience in a package,
forget the ribbon and the bow,
I like to wrap presents with brown paper bags,
sometimes with recycled cartoons,
or just a behind the back surprise.

speaking of language
is itself a paradox
like the sovereign is outside the law
while being the creator of the same,
language is outside of words
while being the only way to express itself
then what is self expression
and is language something completely else
other than this subject pointed at by “Self”
here we find another way to identify
or perhaps do away with it altogether
all together
life as the prerequisite to language
consciousness the cocreator of thought
yin yang,
ego id,
Word Spirit,
body soul
i am Derek
i am breath
i am pulse
i am this
i am that
I AM

From → Poems

21 Comments
  1. dude i love the title { (what i am is)(is what i am)(am i what is) }… nice poem

  2. Your “self” is doing a fine job of interacting with “experience” This poem is wonderful, entertaining and self evident about attempts at life. Great job Derek!

  3. A very deep and lovely write and even better read, thank you.

  4. good work. This is very awesome.

  5. Being what you are..totally sticking me all along.

    Good work!

    Alcina

  6. Wonderful write about writing. I believe a writer has to be himself.

    My poem for this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/she-sat-alone-2/

  7. the first three lines instantly drew me.

    wonderful work shared.

    😉

  8. Very nice poem,indeed.

  9. Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  10. Awesome title and I really like your style 🙂

  11. I like the word play of you, and your arts.

    Nice to meet you.

  12. very unique title. loved everything about it. keep it and happy rally…!

  13. Fun title, and nice exploration of what poetry, words, language, thought and feeling all mean to you, to us, and in relation to each other. I enjoyed it.

  14. you are creatively awesome! your title is special! 🙂

  15. Iris D permalink

    Title truly fits the poem. We all get tangled in words, and you have unraveled them in an endearing way. Quite enjoyable

  16. Very happy to make your acquaintance, Derek. Your poem is incredible.

    http://kaysalady.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/my-mind-is-frozen/

  17. Very well done.. analytic view of core being…

  18. A wonderfully powerful expression! “to put my self and my experience in a package,
    forget the ribbon and the bow,”…awesome line!

  19. AWESOME piece got better as it went on (but was awesome from the start), I really liked how you ended this

  20. Seemingly simple yet very profound, I love the paradoxes in this poem.

  21. I like the poem, the ideas behind it. Good writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

